2000 Guineas Winners: 1900s

2 May 1992: Lester Piggot of Great Britain on Rodrigo De Triano in action during the 2000 Guineas Stakes at Newmarket racecourse in Newmarket, England. Rodrigo De Triano won the race and Piggott achieved his 30th Classic win. ChrisCole/Allsport
For details of winning horses, jockeys, and trainers from 1980 on, visit our 2,000 Guineas winners page. If you’re interested in 2,000 Guineas history, visit the 2000 Guineas early winners page for a list of all winners in the 1800s.

2,000 Guineas Winners: 1950 to 1979







1950 Palestine Charlie Smirke Marcus Marsh HH Aga Khan III
1951 Ki Ming Scobie Breasley Michael Beary Ley On
1952 Thunderhead II Roger Poincelet Etienne Pollet Eugene Constant 1:42.48
1953 Nearula Edgar Britt Charles Elsey William Humble 1:38.26
1954 Darius Manny Mercer Harry Wragg Sir Percy Loraine 1:39.45
1955 Our Babu Doug Smith Geoffrey Brooke Sir David Robinson 1:38.83
1956 Gilles de Retz Frank Barlow Helen Johnson Houghton Anthony G. Samuel 1:38.76
1957 Crepello Lester Piggott Noel Murless Sir Victor Sassoon 1:38.24
1958 Pall Mall Doug Smith Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Queen Elizabeth II 1:39.43
1959 Taboun George Moore Alec Head Prince Aly Khan 1:42.42
1960 Martial Ron Hutchinson Paddy Prendergast Reginald N. Webster 1:38.33
1961 Rockavon Norman Stirk George Boyd Tommy Yuill 1:39.46
1962 Privy Councillor Bill Rickaby Tom Waugh Gerald Glover 1:38.74
1963 Only For Life Jimmy Lindley Jeremy Tree Monica Sheriffe 1:45.00
1964 Baldric II Bill Pyers Ernie Fellows Mrs Howell Jackson 1:38.44
1965 Niksar Duncan Keith Walter Nightingall Wilfred Harvey 1:43.31
1966 Kashmir II Jimmy Lindley Charles Bartholomew P Butler 1:40.68
1967 Royal Palace George Moore Noel Murless Jim Joel 1:39.37
1968 Sir Ivor Lester Piggott Vincent O’Brien Raymond R. Guest 1:39.26
1969 Right Tack Geoff Lewis John Sutcliffe J R Brown 1:41.65
1970 Nijinsky Lester Piggott Vincent O’Brien Charles W Engelhard, Jr. 1:41.54
1971 Brigadier Gerard Joe Mercer Dick Hern Jean Hislop 1:39.20
1972 High Top Willie Carson Bernard van Cutsem Sir Jules Thorn 1:40.82
1973 Mon Fils Frankie Durr Richard Hannon Mrs B. M. L. Davis 1:42.97
1974 Nonoalco Yves Saint-Martin François Boutin Maria-Felix Berger 1:39.58
1975 Bolkonski Gianfranco Dettori Henry Cecil Carlo d’Alessio 1:39.49
1976 Wollow Gianfranco Dettori Henry Cecil Carlo d’Alessio 1:38.09
1977 Nebbiolo Gabriel Curran Kevin Prendergast Niels Schibbye 1:38.54
1978 Roland Gardens Frankie Durr Duncan Sasse J Hayter 1:47.33
1979 Tap on Wood Steve Cauthen Barry Hills Tony Shead 1:43.60

In 1961, Rockavon set the 2,000 Guineas record for the winner with the longest odds, at 66/1.

2,000 Guineas Winners: 1900 – 1950

1900 Diamond Jubilee Herbert Jones Richard Marsh Prince of Wales,
later Edward VII
1901 Handicapper William Halsey F Day Sir Ernest Cassel
1902 Sceptre Herbert Randall Bob Sievier Bob Sievier
1903 Rock Sand J. Martin George Blackwell Sir James Miller
1904 St. Amant Kempton Cannon Alfred Hayhoe Leopold de Rothschild
1905 Vedas Herbert Jones Jack Robinson F de Wend-Fenton
1906 Gorgos Herbert Jones Richard Marsh Arthur James
1907 Slieve Gallion William Higgs Sam Darling, Sr. Captain Sir Henry Greer
1908 Norman III Otto Madden John Watson August Belmont, Jr.
1909 Minoru Herbert Jones Richard Marsh King Edward VII
1910 Neil Gow Danny Maher Percy Peck 5th Earl of Rosebery
1911 Sunstar George Stern Charles Morton Jack B Joel
1912 Sweeper II Danny Maher Atty Persse Herman B. Duryea
1913 Louvois Johnny Reiff Dawson Waugh Walter Raphael
1914 Kennymore George Stern Alec Taylor, Jr. Sir J Thursby
1915 Pommern Steve Donoghue Charles Peck Solly Joel
1916 Clarissimus J Clark Willie Waugh 7th Viscount Falmouth
1917 Gay Crusader Steve Donoghue Alec Taylor, Jr. Alfred W Cox
1918 Gainsborough Joe Childs Alec Taylor, Jr. Lady James Douglas
1919 The Panther R Cooper G Manser Sir Alec Black
1920 Tetratema Brownie Carslake Atty Persse Dermot H B McCalmont
1921 Craig an Eran John Brennan Alec Taylor, Jr. 2nd Viscount Astor
1922 St. Louis George Archibald Peter Gilpin Lord Queensborough
1923 Ellangowan Charlie Elliott Jack Jarvis 5th Earl of Rosebery
1924 Diophon George Hulme Dick Dawson HH Aga Khan III
1925 Manna Steve Donoghue Fred Darling Henry E Morriss
1926 Colorado Tommy Weston George Lambton 17th Earl of Derby
1927 Adam’s Apple Jack Leach Harry Cottrill Charles Whitburn
1928 Flamingo Charlie Elliott Jack Jarvis 1st Baron Milford
1929 Mr. Jinks Harry Beasley Atty Persse Dermot H B McCalmont
1930 Diolite Freddie Fox Fred Templeman Sir Hugo Hirst
1931 Cameronian Joe Childs Fred Darling John A. Dewar
1932 Orwell R Jones Joe Lawson Washington Singer
1933 Rodosto R Brethes Harry Count Princess de Facigny-Lucinge
1934 Colombo Rae Johnstone Captain Thomas Hogg 1st Baron Glanely
1935 Bahram Freddie Fox Frank Butters HH Aga Khan III
1936 Pay Up R Dick Joe Lawson 2nd Viscount Astor
1937 Le Ksar Charles Semblat Frank Carter Evremond de Saint-Alary
1938 Pasch Gordon Richards Fred Darling Henry E Morriss
1939 Blue Peter Eph Smith Jack Jarvis 6th Earl of Rosebery
1940 Djebel Charlie Elliott Albert Swann Marcel Boussac
1941 Lambert Simnel Charlie Elliott Fred Templeman 2nd Duke of Westminster
1942 Big Game Gordon Richards Fred Darling King George VI
1943 Kingsway Sam Wragg Joe Lawson A. E. Saunders
1944 Garden Path Harry Wragg W Earl 17th Earl of Derby
1945 Court Martial C. Richards Joe Lawson 2nd Viscount Astor
1946 Happy Knight Tommy Weston Henri Jelliss Sir William Cooke
1947 Tudor Minstrel Gordon Richards Fred Darling John A Dewar
1948 My Babu Charlie Smirke Sam Armstrong HH Maharaja of Baroda
1949 Nimbus II Charlie Elliott George Colling Marion Glenister
1950 Palestine Charlie Smirke Marcus Marsh HH Aga Khan III

In 1947, Tudor Minstrel set the record for the widest winning margin since 1900, winning the 2,000 Guineas by a full eight lengths. The 2,000 Guineas is remarkable in that it’s one of the few races that continued to be run in Britain during both World Wars.